Sixth International Symposium on

COMMUNICATION SYSTEMS, NETWORKS AND DIGITAL SIGNAL PROCESSING (CSNDSP'08) 23-25 July 2008, Graz University of Technology, Graz, Austria.

www.csndsp08.tugraz.at

Hosted by: Institute of Broadband Communications (IBK) at the Department of Communications and Wave Propagation **Sponsored by:**









First Call for Papers

Steering Committee:

Prof. Z Ghassemlooy (Northumbria Univ., UK) -

Prof. A C Boucouvalas (Univ. of Peloponnese, Greece) -

Prof. R A Carrasco (Newcastle Univ. UK)

Dr. Erich Leitgeb (Graz Univ. Austria) - Local Organiser

Local Organising Committee:

Dr. Erich Leitgeb (Local Organising Committee Chair) Prof. O. Koudelka (Professor)

Dr U. Birnbacher

J. Ritsch and P. Reichel (OVE)

Dr J. Wolkerstorfer

P. Schrotter

National/International Technical Committee:

Dr M Ali (Oxford Brookes Univ. UK)

Prof. E Babulak (American Univ. Girne, North Cyprus)
Prof. P Ball (Oxford Brookes Univ. UK)

Prof. J L Bihan (Ecole Nation. d'Ingen. de Brest, France)

Dr K E Brown (Heriot-Watt Univ. UK)

Prof. R A Carrasco (Newcastle Univ. UK)

Dr J B Carruthers (Boston University, USA)

Prof. F Castanie (INPT, France)

Dr H Castel (Inst. Natio. D. Télécommun., France)

Dr L Chao (Nanyang Tech. Univ. Singapore)

Prof. R J Clarke (Heriot-Watt Univ. UK)

Dr M Connelly (Univ. of Limerick, Ireland)

Prof. A Constantinides (Imperial College, UK)

Prof. D Dietrich, (Vienna Univ. of Tech., Austria) IEEE Austria Section Chair

Dr D Dimitrov (Tech. Univ. of Sofia, Bulgaria)

Dr S Dlay (Newcastle Univ. UK)

Dr. M Gebhart, (NXP, Gratkorn Austria)

Dr M Giurgiu (Univ. of Cluj-Napoca, Romania)

Dr. M Glabowski, (Poznan Univ. of Tech., Poland)

Prof. Ch Grimm, (Vienna Univ. of Tech., Austria)

Dr A. Inoue (NTT, Japan)

Prof. L Izzo (Univ. of Napoli, Italy)

Prof. G Kandus (IJS Ljubljana, Slovenia)

Prof. K Kawashima (Tokyo Univ. TUAT, Japan)

Prof. C Knutson (Brigham Young Univ., USA)

Prof. G Kubin, (Graz Univ. of Tech., Austria

Prof. K Liu (Reading Univ. UK)

Dr M D Logothetis (Univ. of Patras, Greece)

Prof. E Lutz, (DLR, Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany)
Prof. M Matijasevic (FER Zagreb, Croatia)

Prof. B Mikac (FER Zagreb, Croatia)

Dr. W P Ng (Northumbria University, UK)

Dr T Ohtsuki (Tokyo Univ. of Sci., Japan)

Prof. F Ozek (Ankara Univ., Ankara, Turkey)

Prof. R Penty (Cambridge Univ. UK)

Prof. W Pribyl, (Graz Univ. of Tech. Austria)

Prof. J A Robinson (Univ. of York, UK) Dr D Roviras (INPT, France)

Prof. M Rupp, (Vienna Univ. of Tech., Austria)

Dr S Shioda (Chiba Univ. Japan)
Dr J Sodha (Univ. of West Indies, Barbados, W.Indies)

Dr I Soto (Santiago Univ. Chile)

Dr U Speidel (Univ. of Auckland, Newzeland)

Prof. M Stasiak (Poznan Univ. Poland)

Dr L Stergioulas (Brunel Uni. UK)

Prof. M Theologou (Nation. Tech. Univ. Athens, Greece)

Prof. R T Valadas (Univ. of Aveiro, Portugal)

Dr I Viniotis (N.Caroline State Univ.USA)

Dr V Vitsas (TEI of Thessaloniki, Greece)

Prof. R Weiß, (Graz Univ. of Tech., Austria)

Prof. M N Zervas (Southampton Univ. UK)

Following the success of the last event, and after 10 years, the CSNDSP steering committee decided to hold the next event at the Graz University, Austria. Graz was the 2003 cultural capital of Europe. CSNDSP, a biannual conference, started in UK ten years ago and in 2006 it was hold for the first time outside UK in Patras/Greece. CSNDSP has now been recognised as a forum for the exchange of ideas among engineers, scientists and young researchers from all over the world on advances in communication systems, communications networks, digital signal processing and other related areas and to provide a focus for future research and developments. The organising committee invites you to submit original high quality papers addressing research topics of interest for presentation at the conference and inclusion in the symposium proceedings.

Papers are solicited from, but not limited to the following topics:

- Adaptive signal processing
- ATM systems and networks
- Chip design for Communications
- Communication theory
- Coding and error control
- Communication protocols
- Communications for disaster management
- Crosslaver design
- DSP algorithms and applications
- E-commerce and e-learning applications
- Intelligent systems/networks
- Internet communications
- High performance networks
- Mobile communications, networks, mobile computing for ecommerce
- Mobility management
- Modulation and synchronisation
- Modelling and simulation techniques
- Multimedia communications and broadband services
- Microwave Communications

- New techniques in RF-design and modelling
- Network management & operation
- **Optical** communications
- Optical MEMS for lightwave networks
- Optical wireless communications
- Photonic Network
- Quality of service, reliability and performance modelling
- Radio, satellite and space communications
- RFID & near field communications
- Satellite & space communications
- Speech technology
- Signal processing for storage
- Teletraffic models and traffic engineering
- VLSI for communications and **DSP**
- Wireless LANs and ad hoc networks
- 3G/4G network evolution
- Any other related topics
- Papers may be presented in the form of Oral presentation and/or Poster Contributions by MPhil/PhD research students are particularly encouraged.

Submission Dates:

Full Paper due:

27th Jan. 2008

Not if i cat i on of accept ance by:

1st April 2008

- Electronic submission by e-mail to: csndsp08@tugraz.at
- All papers will be refereed and published in the symposium proceeding. Selected papers will be published in: The Mediterranean Journals of Computers and Networks and Electronics and Communications, and possibly IET proceedings.
- A number of travel grants and registration fee waivers will be offered to the delegates.

Fees: 360.00 EURO, (Group Delegates of 3 persons: 760.00 Euro)

Includes: A copy of the Symposium Proceedings, Lunches, and Symposium Dinner on the 24th July.

CSNDSP'08 General Information

Contact: Dr. Erich Leitgeb - Local Organising Committee Chair

Institute of Broadband Communications, Graz University of Technology, A-8010 Graz, Inffeldg. 12, Tel.: ++43-316-873-7442, Fax.: ++43-316-463697. Email: erich.leitgeb@tugraz.at, Web-site: http://www.inw.tugraz.at/ibk